Home.

I’m currently spending a few weeks back in my college town, taking some time to relax and breathe before moving forward into new adventures. The only place I called home for over six years. A place I still very much consider to be a home now, although I haven’t lived here for over two years. I used to think home was only one place at a time // Now I’m learning that home isn’t necessarily that. For me, home is the place you want to run to when scared but also the place that gives you the courage to begin new adventures. Pushing you to do the things that scare you but also a safety net for when you’re in too deep. And maybe it’s a physical place – a house, a town, a lake. But I think maybe it can be found in people and music and art and all other places, if we only remember to look. And maybe, if we are lucky, home can be in different places all at once. With the ability to change over time, sure; but not necessarily all the time. Maybe sometimes the places we call home go with us as we begin new adventures.

“Where we love is home – home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.”
-Oliver Wendell Holmes

I surprised most everybody, including myself, when I decided to go to college out of state. The expected choice was one of two state schools, but something was pulling me away. And I’m so glad I said yes. For me, college is home to what will always be some of my most favorite memories. My first apartment. The place I almost gave up on life entirely. The first time I fell in love; the place I raised three puppies. My first house. Where I learned to fight for myself and not just with myself. Where I learned to rest in moments of exhaustion. Where I found myself immersed in moments of pure joy. The first time I experienced pure heartbreak. The place that taught me who I was and what lights my soul on fire. The moments that broke my heart wide open. The place that taught me how to celebrate. How to choose courage over comfort. Where I learned that saltwater and sand is a strong reminder for me to slow down and breathe deep. It is home to some of the hardest moments but also some of the best moments in my life. And although the town itself is changing and growing, as life does, the pieces that make this place home can never leave. Because they are found in the memories of the laughs and the smiles and the tears and the people and the tiny little infinities of yesterday. Crazy lucky to find myself resting here again; a safe place to land no matter the circumstances. And hopefully that piece of home never changes.

“Home is wherever you leave everything you love and never question that it will be there when you return.” -Leo Christopher

Over and out,
#RedFeather

Leave a Reply

